In 1994 the BPA launched the Ernest Davies Award – or Ernest Davies Memorial Award as it was originally known – to advance parking knowledge.

The award’s namesake, Ernest Davies, was a journalist by profession so it seemed only fitting that a competition bearing his name awarded the best piece of writing relating to parking.

Ernest was one of the subscribers listed on 20 April 1970, in the British Parking Association Memorandum and Articles of Association. He and the late Kenneth Bloom were major figures in the founding and subsequent operation of the British Parking Association.

Ernest went on to become Secretary as well as Seminar Organiser and General Factotum, running the Association from his Newman Street office.

Ernest became President of the Association in 1977 an office he held until 1980 when he was elected to Honorary Membership of the British Parking Association. His awareness of political and planning trends, together with his many contacts in those fields, proved of immense value to the Association.

The objective of the award named in his honour was to ‘encourage younger members to communicate both verbally and in writing on matters relating to any aspect of parking in its broadest sense’, and a strict age limit for candidates of ‘no more than 30 years of age’ was applied.

Tina Rust of Norwich City Council became the first recipient of the award in 1994 with her paper entitled, ‘How to financially manage your portfolio’.

The award is still given to this day. To read about the latest winner click here.

First ED award

The first Ernest Davies Award, mentioned in the
Director General's report from Parking News #144. 

comments powered by Disqus