The British Parking Association was formed on 29 November 1967, with members representing all sections of the parking industry. This included Local Authorities, Development Boards, Parking Operators, Equipment Manufacturers, Contractors, Engineers and Architects.

The first officials of the British Parking Association were:

Chairman: E. Kenneth Bloom

Vice Chairman: Ernest Davies

Honorary Treasurer: A. Kaye

Honorary Secretary: John Glanville

The aim of the Association was to work for the general advancement of standards of design, construction, management and location of all types of car park facilities.